fourpoints Magazine

The #1 Resource for Everything Miss America & MAOTeen

MAO Presents Academy of Honor Award to Michigan Volunteer

Friday, 04 October 2013 02:43

fourpoints magazine recently sat down with 2014 Academy of Honor winner Shelley Taylor, executive director of the Miss Michigan organization. Get her reaction to the award and her secret to more than thirty successful years of volunteering within the Miss America Organization in the December issue of fourpoints! Until then, here's a little recap courtesy of MAO.


During the 2014 Miss America Competition in Atlantic City, New Jersey, The Miss America Organization proudly announced Shelley Taylor, executive director of the Miss Michigan Scholarship Program, as the recipient of the 2014 Academy of Honor Award. This prestigious award was established in 1996 to recognize one individual annually who has provided outstanding service to the Miss America Organization at the state or local pageant level.   

Shelley was presented with the prestigious Waterford crystal eagle during the Wednesday evening preliminary competition on stage in the iconic Boardwalk Hall by CEO and Chairman of the Board Sam Haskell, III. "Shelley's years of volunteering began in the mid- 1970s and today, she is the heartbeat of the Miss Michigan Organization. She instills the values and the importance of community service in her contestants and we are proud to salute her achievements," Sam said. 

Shelley's name was added to the plaque that celebrates all Academy of Honor winners which is on display at the Miss America Organization's national headquarters. In addition, the Miss America Organization will award a $5,000 scholarship grant to the Miss Michigan Scholarship Fund in recognition of Shelley's achievement.  

Miss America Academy of Honor Award Recipients include: Harlen Gudger, Virginia 2013; Sally Johnston, New Jersey 2012; William J. Haggerty, New Hampshire, 2011; Nan Teninbaum, Alabama, 2010; Mary Sullivan, Florida, 2009; Dana Phillips, Oregon, 2008; Kay Dickinson, North Carolina, 2007; Bruce Robert, Massachusetts, 2006; Gail Sanders, South Carolina, 2004; Charles Welch, Oklahoma, 2003; Tess Beauchamp, Connecticut, 2002; Robert W. Arnhym, California, 2001; Joseph P. Sanders, South Carolina, 2000; Larry Webber, Missouri, 1999; Meg Geraghty, New Hampshire, 1998; Robert Wheeler, Arkansas, 1997; and Tom Hensley, Tennessee, 1996. 

Source and photo: MAO